Expat Dribble

Andrea Avery Jackley: An expat with lots of dribble to write about.

3.24.09

A cold, rainy day – just 44 degrees when I left Minneapolis. My luggage was a bulky 77 pounds, or seven pounds overweight when flying internationally; a painful lesson to learn as it turns out. After an exhausting game of back and forth between bags, flip-flopping clothing and other articles I thought might be lighter or heavier, I finally managed to get my giant suitcase down to 70 pounds and my duffle up to 30. I was thus granted passage onto the plane, with just enough time left over to devour a quesadilla washed down with a Tecate at Chili’s before dashing to my exit from the U.S. I’m very concerned about not being able to enjoy Mexican beer in Korea. 

It was a rocky start, comprised of some sweat, sore muscles and a few tearful goodbyes. But don’t ask me how I feel, just yet…

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

